The Bicocchi House, purchased by descendants of the Bicocchi family from the local Council in 1980, has been recently opened to the public as a museum. Documentary evidence attests that members of the family have been part of the local Municipality since 1770.
The house museum offers a glimpse of 19th century bourgeois life and of a wealthy, religious family who held high posts in the civil service, administered landed property and involved in the upcoming glass industry. The grand furniture, the elegant ceiling decorations, the precious fabrics and French wall paper bestow luxury and opulence to the interior and are the expression of a unique style of life so different from today.
The museum hosts also the permanent exhibition of the “warriors princes”: six rooms illustrating the period from Paleolithic to Renaissance. On display, important findings such as the “Lustignano Stone” showing a bison, one of the oldest remains of Prehistoric art in Tuscany, in addition to the monumental Etruscan stele of Pomarance (6th century B.C.)